Own It

One piece of advice for project managers:  own it!

I come from a functional organization where I have heard project managers or team-members give excuses that I do not accept. 

I recently worked with a PM who advised me she will “do the best she can do” but I should know how hard it is to get people to do things when they don’t report to you.  Another advised me there is no update becase so-and-so hasn’t responded to their email.  I will admit functional organizations are difficult, but this kind of attitude will affect your approach to managing the project.

If you take full responsibility for project success or failure, you will work harder and be creative to make it succeed.  This is what I call owning it!

Project Managers should be seen as people who can get things done even if they are difficult.  You will develop tenacity when you own it and gain a reputation of being results-driven.

Yoda said it best,  “Do or do not, there is no try”.

Add to Google 

Leave a comment

Filed under Learn Leadership, PM Ethics, Project Management

Leave a Reply

