2008 New Years Revolution

Don’t just plan little 2008 resolutions, strive to make a major REVOLUTION!

Many new years resolutions are wimpy.  Most of the time they are focused on what we want to STOP doing:  quit eating junk food, end credit card spending, don’t buy Starbucks every morning, etc.

I challenge you to make your 2008 goals to be about what you want to accomplish.  Instead of quitting junk food, decide to eat healthy.  Don’t end credit card spending, choose your debit card as the only plastic to be used for spending.  I have no advice for Starbucks since they own my mornings!
The general consensus is that all new years resolutions fail.  I think it is because we are not passionate about what we want to accomplish.  We all know deep in our heart who we want to be, what we want to do, and how we wish to positively impact those around us.  When making your 2008 plan, don’t scratch off something because you already feel defeated before you even try.
Dustin Wax has a great guideline for 8 Ways to Achieve Success in 2008.  I think all of his tips are relevant but I really liked these three:
  • Find a support group
  • Accept failure graciously — and move on
  • Change yourself, not the things around you
Scott Young has 14 Tips For Resolutions That Stick in the New Year.  I like how he points out resolutions require strategy and not willpower.  These are the three that really stood out for me:
  • Create a Trigger
  • Behavior First, Results Later
  • Consistency Counts
I am wrting down my 2008 plans this weekend.  I hope you take any inspiration you received here and turn it into action.  I hope you dream big and strive to make huge transformations that will revolutionize your life.
4 Comments

Filed under Encouragement, Personal Development

4 responses to “2008 New Years Revolution

  1. eshepp

    I think it’s important to remember that resolutions can start at any time. While a New Year is a good starting point for many people, if someone feels the need to make a change in the middle of the year, there’s no reason not to.

  2. I agree with you eshepp. I would hate for peope to think they missed the only time of the year they can decide to make improvements!

    Although it is not listed, I also plan to review (at least once a month) to see if my goals are still something I want and use the list to remind me if I stray away from my list.

    We should not just wait for a specific day once a year to make a change.

    Thank you for your comment!

  3. I like the idea of a revolution instead of small plans.
    I’m one who believes the reason we don’t reach goals or for that matter resolutions is because they just aren’t worthy of us…

    Edward

  4. Thanks for the comment Edward.

    The idea of revolution seems to generate more passion and my vision is specific when I think of changes this way. Wimpy plans just seem to wash away with a HO HUM.

Leave a Reply

